Castle and moat

100_8718home sweer home 005home sweer home 007100_8615I like to live on commercial property, it usually has 220 and natural gas lines, the neighbors don’t care what I do or how much noise I make.. security tends to be good and the nights free from idlers… I like that I can drive a truck through the door and move my house inside… there’s lots of room and I can do whatever, the overhead storage is a plus..it has a rest room and what not, so its pretty much nirvana for the insomnia prone.. occasionally during monsoon it becomes waterfront property…but it’s a nice change from relentless heat.. For about 3 hours, then its a sauna and the heat becomes suffocating rather than merely blistering… But at least there’s no snow…

The shop is still being arranged…. more tools and equipment to move in, projects to consolidate, complete then dispose of… I’m lacking my silversmiths bench, lapidary tools and need to move in a beautiful push cart that I plan on refinishing for the renn-fair circuit… there are exhibition booths to build and photo back drops to set up… As well as a work bench for stained glass and God knows what..

I really need the space and aside from that most apartment owners don’t like welding or paint booths in the living room….much less saws running at 2:00 AM.. or kilns, foundry furnaces and noxious smells…

Its really not that odd.. rent is a third of a house, I can do whatever, when-ever and everyone is cool.. the owner says if I want to build an apartment in the rafters or make a loft its all good..

I won’t but the option is nice..

I got this spot because the feds changed the rules on airplane hangars… you can’t turn them into studios anymore much less live in one.. but it’ll do.

I don’t care about social life or entertaining.. it’s about work, art impulses, dinner and my beloved privacy… I don’t like distractions or anyone eyeing a work in progress, the GF being the only exception since shes about as twisted as I am….

I’ll never understand her attraction to me.. I live like a monk, but she thinks I’m funny and I never tell her no if she wants to learn stuff.. I don’t have that “a woman’s place is___” thing in my head..or “you can’t”, it’s just nonsense, there is no competition about anything.. we’re co-conspirators..

Sometimes 1+1=11 not 2

End of diatribe…..

Leave a Reply

