Girl in a van.

100_6837I stopped and had a few chats with her over the course of the season, its one of the hazards of being interested in how other people do things… be it dinner, living space, earning a living or off grid life in general.

It’s a been there done that thing.. cept I’m not a rainbow child or a girl, it’s more boots, jeans, black T shirts and leather vests.. I sold silver, amber, crystal balls and hard to find stuff or did security and what-not for the big outfits.. which paid more overall.

“Bill here’s the keys to the warehouse in Tucson, load this and that, set up in Denver in three days and we’ll see you there” was the norm, or dealing with customs for them and getting permits because they couldn’t speak English all that well..which was done for $200 a day and my beloved Per Diem..That I went to LAX or Phoenix Sky Harbor made zero difference to me.. and it went on for years.

Santa Barbra shows were a zoo… but they had a whole foods close and little bistro type restaurants the boss lady liked to drag me too. (Aside from my Per Diem of course)….

It was a good gig… but one evolves, my thinking is making a transition of some sort.

I keep mulling over food carts and burning man..small bistros, pizzerias or bed and breakfast type scenarios… with a side of Esty to keep me amused when I get nostalgic for 30 hour drives and manhandling 400 pound drums of stone on and off a truck..

Doing the shows was good, yet not exactly easy… but nothing is.

The laid-back, rainbow hippie thing isn’t for me… I understand it and it’s all good, but what drives me is different, as is the mind set.

Leave a Reply

