Baking custard at 4:00 AM

100_9018

100_9013

I’m prone to waking up between 2:00 and 4:00 AM then cooking something for later in the day, rather than midnight snacking like a normal person..

Which is fine in it’s way… this time it was a little different, I had everything out and ready to go, rather than rummaging or working through some half formed idea.

Using the ramekins for egg custard, rather than some culinary alchemy is the pay off “this time”..

Why I only bought three ramekins is beyond me, other than I live by myself and don’t entertain… so it seemed like a reasonable number at the time..

Most recipes are for a goodly quantity and three is a logistical nightmare.. So it seems I need more or bigger ramekins.. probably both.

Working through the current project list is a project…since stuff gets hi-jacked and pressed into service as dinner out of sequence.

And there are some compelling projects.. Pot pies being a big one, but I keep eating the pork, beef and whatever meant for fillings because I’m to tired to fool with crusts and pans, much less waiting another hour…

The smoker is 10 hours of watchful attentiveness and that ain’t happenin, just yet.

Leave a Reply

