New and improved baked custard

100_9022

I woke up in the middle of someone else’s night and got busy making baked custard, yet again..

One would think bouncing out of bed somewhere between midnight and 4:00 AM could be a problem, but it’s not (other than the stores being closed)..

It’s quiet, the night air is cool and I can concentrate on the tasks at hand, my mind is relatively fresh and relaxed..

Then I cook, bake or go off on random food tangents and decide to do something like make pickles..or spray paint the BBQ, Which works for me..

The Baked Custard project is one of those things rooted in nostalgia… Which I make for fun, then modify till it’s better than I remember..

Which isn’t all that hard given a half century time lapse….

I’m not sure whats driving me… other than food shouldn’t be sad, middle of the road one size fits all, blandness.. Music isn’t one note, art isn’t one color.. So I’m thinkin dinner might need to be more…. dynamic.

Which is sort of ironic when one is dealing with baked custard.. but makes sense when freshly grated nutmeg makes its statement followed by the silky texture of said custard and Mexican vanilla changes your notion of what you thought was good..

Leave a Reply

