Other times other lives

Once upon a time,

I was an elected official (Town councilman) not because I wanted to be, but because it came under the heading of public service and duty.

When no one speaks for you, the people you care for or your way of life….. its on you to be the one…

There was no ego appeal, I had no desire to be popular or “be someone”.. it was about doing the job as defined by the oath.

I put in 60-80 hours a week between doing the Towns business and study… Town code and ordinances, State Statutes as relate to governance, grant proposals and all the things that relate to seeking the greatest good for the greatest number.

I was notorious for voting “NO” regardless of pressures to “go along to get along” and my vote often was the sole no..

That my reasons were clear and irrefutable had no bearing.. I would not vote aye based on incomplete, faulty or falsified information… the answer to the call for the vote in that case was invariably “No”, there were other “NO” votes on items that were contrary to law, our best interests or placed undue restrictions on participation in the political process…or peoples personal lives, not to mention expansion of debt via mismanagement..

For which I was constantly ridiculed… maligned, mocked and subjected to public disapproval, by the ruling clique..

I would habitually vomit before each session… I had no choice but to vote my conscience with the common good and law as my deciding factor… regardless of influence, pressure, personal interest or any other consideration…

A good part of my studies and training was in emergency management, which is something I find extremely valuable for a public official to know…and I reached a very high rank, based on achievement not politics…

I was offered a 3 year contract at $70,000 per year if I would resign…. I said no, my $400 per month stipend was just fine and I liked my vote…. which lead to outright war..

All of that leads to this… a day or so ago, I made statements regarding my opposition to issuing contracts for a chief of police, a Town manager and others…. and cited the code which disallows the entire scenario. As well as reasons why it is a bad idea

I was genuinely thanked rather than cursed for the information…. you have no idea how rare that is… it was kinda sad, but whatever..

Some people are sheep others lemmings.. I find that wrangling my dinner is less stressful and hiding out way less lonely…

I hated being a councilman… it was the most demeaning thing I’ve ever done… I was forced to serve on council with low life, I would never speak to under any other circumstance..

But I had to… there was no other choice.. I believe in stand up or shut up..

Leave a Reply

